Home Squash Grading List

Squash Grading List

Squash is unique compared to other sports as Squash New Zealand operates a 'grading system' for players.  This system has recently been adopted by Tennis New Zealand for its players as well.

Depending on your level of ability you will be initially be allocated a grade which indicates this.  For adults (over 19) the grading system starts at F grade and goes up to A1 which is the highest grade possible (usually these are the best players in the country.)  For junior players (under 19) the grading list starts at J5 and goes up to J1 before integrating into the adult grades from F upwards.

A certain range of 'points' gained through play is allocated to each grade as follows:


A1 = 4000 & up D1 = 1801 - 2100 J1 = 501 - 600
A2 = 3501 - 4000 D2 = 1501 - 1800 J2 = 401 - 500
B1 = 3101 - 3500 E1 = 1201 - 1500 J3 = 301 - 400
B2 = 2801 - 3100 E2 = 901 - 1200 J4 = 201 - 300
C1 = 2401 - 2800 F = 601 - 900 J5 = 100 - 200
C2 = 2101 - 2400







Being graded allows you to play in competitive tournaments and events like open club tournaments, Wellington Interclub and District Super Champs.  You increase your points, and subsequently your grade, by beating your opponents in these competitions, while conversely,  if you are beaten you will lose points.  Squash New Zealand normally publishes updated grading lists on the 1st and 15th of the month which are available on the Squash NZ website www.squashnz.co.nz as downloads or you can use their new online search engine to find your individual points history.

To go onto the grading list you should indicate your wish to do so when you complete your membership form on joining, otherwise for existing members email the Club Statistician at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Please support our Sponsors

In order to view this object you need Flash Player 9+ support!

Get Adobe Flash player

Powered by RS Web Solutions

IBTSC Club Tweets